Bolivar Chamber REwards the Community

Last Tuesday evening, Bolivar Chamber of Commerce hosted the Annual Awards Ceremony at Jose’s Cantina, yet another occasion that COVID cancelled in 2020. The event brought out a large crowd to honor the deserving 2021 recipients of the awards for Volunteer, Educator, Citizen, and Business of the Year. Guests were greeted by the friendly Chamber staff and dinner was served prior to the presentations.

After an excellent steak dinner, Chamber of Commerce President Brenda Flanagan welcomed everyone, and presented the Chamber’s highlights and accomplishments for the year. The Chamber has grown to over 200 members! Members that help to promote and support Bolivar in numerous ways.

Pat Avery, President of the Port Arthur Chamber of Commerce, was the Guest Speaker, and she spoke of the importance of a Chamber of Commerce in the community.

Mike Dunn was awarded Volunteer of the Year, presented by Larry Flanagan. (Mike was not present to receive the award)

Terri Ward presented Educator of the Year to Tracie Camp, Principal of Crenshaw School.

Citizen of the Year is Dennis Rollfing, presented by Tom Osten.

Honorary Citizen of the Year awards were presented to our local State Legislators, Senator Brandon Creighton and Representative Mayes Middleton, for their work in helping promote the needs of Bolivar Peninsula.

A standing ovation erupted as Anne Willis was presented a Lifetime Achievement Award for over 25 years of dedicated service to the Chamber.

Business of the Year award was not given to a single business, rather it was awarded to “ALL Bolivar Chamber of Commerce Business Members” for their accomplishments and resilience while navigating the difficulties of 2020 with the pandemic lockdowns and shutdowns. A slide show pridefully reflected each of the Bolivar businesses.

Chamber of Commerce Ambassador Traci Vaughan was recognized for her work in organizing the event, and Jose’s staff was applauded for their fine cuisine and hospitality.

Chamber Board of Directors: Sharon Magana-McCurdy (Vice President), Cherri Evans-Williams, Lance Bradley (Treasurer), Anne Willis, Cathy Hammond (Secretary), Brenda Flanagan (President). Tim Byrom, not pictured.

To close out the evening, door prizes were given to the lucky winners. Congratulations to the many awardees and Thank You for the community support.

Facebook Twitter
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Site by