The Chamber Gives Thanks

“Discover Bolivar” 2018 Annual Awards BanquetThe Bolivar Peninsula Chamber of Commerce hosted their “Discover Bolivar” 2018 Annual Awards Banquet last Tuesday night. The event was held at Jose’s Cajun Steakhouse where guests were treated to Jose’s fried shrimp and fish, with all the extras accompanying the seafood. The room was packed with Chamber members and patrons all celebrating another year of appreciation within the community. Also in attendance were State Representative candidate Mayes Middleton, County Commissioner Darrel Apffel, Constable Derrick Rose and several county officials. Bolivar Peninsula Chamber Board Members in attendance were Brenda Flanagan, President, Anne Willis, Vice-President, Michael Lange, Treasurer, Sandra Dial, Secretary, along with Directors Jack Davis, Jim Walters, Chad Westbrook, and Keith Zahar.

The evening began with the invocation led by Reverend Valerie Hudson of Bay Vue Methodist Church. And Terry Jung, Executive Director of The Lone Survivor Foundation, was the guest speaker. He praised the Bolivar Community for its commitment to the Foundation and the support of the Lone Survivor Retreat Center in Crystal Beach. This center provides much needed counseling for our soldiers and families suffering from PTSD and military related trauma. Terry believes the Bolivar Community set the bar very high for other communities.

Guest Speaker Terry Jung was given a standing ovation for his work with the Lone Survivor Foundation and his praise for the Bolivar Community in their support of the retreat facility.

Following Terry Jung’s address, Brenda Flanagan presented Certificates of Appreciation to long time employees Georgia Osten and Sherry Morgan, who are both leaving the Chamber to pursue other opportunities.

Brenda Flanagan presented Certificates of Appreciation to long time employees Georgia Osten and Sherry Morgan

The Chamber of Commerce Awards were then presented to the recipients.

Educator of the Year – Dana Ashbacher, Presented by Traci Camp

Volunteer of the Year – Tracy Barnett, Presented by Donna Singer

Business of the Year – Coastal Outdoors Group, Presented by Keith Zahar

Citizen of the Year – George Strong, Presented by Linda Elissalde

Honorary Citizen of the Year – A.J. Larson, Presented by Jan Kent, award accepted by Michelle Walling

Thank You and Congratulations to all the winners! And Thank You to the Chamber of Commerce for such a wonderful event. Looking forward to next year.

“Discover Bolivar” 2018 Annual Awards Banquet

Facebook Twitter
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Site by